Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: eJukebox at optimum performance
ollielaroo

posted on 10-28-2007 at 10:26 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
eJukebox at optimum performance

Hi guys,

eJukebox is an excellent Jukebox - I bought the lifetime licence straight after my trial expired. I work in IT Support myself and am delighted to know eJukebox exists!

I'm wondering what eJukebox would be like when it's given the chance to perform at it's best (no offence to any of the eJukebox development team).
What I mean is, should eJukebox run/perform better if I have a high spec PC?

Specs of my current PC:

AMD Athlon 1.3GHz
784MB RAM
Hercules 64MB Graphics
60GB HDD (13,000 mp3s stored on USB external drive)
Win XP

At present when I use eJukebox it can be a little sticky or it might take a few seconds when 'Caching album list'. I don't expect eJukebox to run like Windows Vista, graphics etc.

What would be the optimal hardware/software setup for a PC to allow eJukebox to perform at it's best?

Any suggestions would greatly be appreciated.
Many thanks and keep up the good work!!

ollie
Audiosoft
Super Administrator

posted on 10-29-2007 at 08:50 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
CPU and RAM are very important but I would say the most influential item that effects performance is the speed of the main hard drive that windows and eJukebox is installed on. So optimum performance would entail the main drive either be a 10,000 rpm or faster disk or a Solid State or RAM drive.

There are of course different options in eJukebox that you can enable/disable to get better performance with your current hardware. I.E. Enabling 'Run in Ram' and Disabling the carousel and animations to make lists load faster. Also you may want to consider temporarily disabling antivirus software when your machine is offline since antivirus is known to slow hard drive i/o.

:cool: Audiosoft