Audiosoft Forums : EJukebox Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: The carousel devours a lot of CPU time, even when its rotation stop off!
Pirk
Posting Freak
*****




Posts: 3976
Registered: 3-11-2003
Location: France
Member Is Offline

shocked.gif posted on 10-28-2006 at 08:57 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
The carousel devours a lot of CPU time, even when its rotation stop off!

Audiosoft,

I've noticed that the album carousel uses a lot of cpu time (50%) even when it doesn't rotate.. Is this normal??
I think that once it is static, normally it should free the cpu, isn't it?

Thanks.




:cool: Pirk
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Audiosoft
Super Administrator
*********




Posts: 3393
Registered: 3-11-2003
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-29-2006 at 02:12 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
I tried to get the carousel to use less cpu when the autostop rotation kicks in for v4.1 but discovered that is not possible within the carousel itself.

The only way is to trick the carousel into thinking it is not visible by capturing the screen area of the carousel to an image and seamlessly putting that image on top of the carousel when it is stopped. I managed to get it to work like that tonight...so you can look forward to the carousel using 0% cpu when it is not rotating under the next update!

There are a few problems with this approach but the benefit of no cpu usage makes it worth it. From a visual and functional standpoint the carousel will be the same. However, if you move eJukebox so that the carousel is only 1/2 on screen the other side of the carousel will be black when you move eJukebox back on screen (if it stopped rotating while partly offscreen). Also if you have a window ontop of the carousel (other than the album popup) when eJukebox has focus and the carousel stops it will show the ontop window in the carousel. The good news is the little graphical glitches will not show up under normal use and if they do happen they will go away when you move your mouse over the carousel.




:cool: Audiosoft
View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
rllercstr7
Member
***




Posts: 377
Registered: 8-2-2004
Location: US
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-29-2006 at 04:16 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Hmm thats interesting,
eJukebox never uses above 25% CPU usage for me, but then again my specs are way above what is required too. This carousel fix method may cause me some problems though as when I open eJukebox it pops up half on one screen half on the other. Have you been able to look into any of the multimonitor issues I mentioned Audiosoft? It is really getting annoying that it opens in the middle of the screens and how the dialogues display on the incorrect monitor. I would greatly appriciate it if you could fix those issues. Thanks! rllercstr7
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member rllercstr7's Aim
Audiosoft
Super Administrator
*********




Posts: 3393
Registered: 3-11-2003
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-29-2006 at 05:12 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
The more albums in the carousel - the more cpu it uses. At least with the next version it will not use cpu while the rotation is stopped.

rllercstr7,

I will fix up the multi-monitor problems as soon as I have an extra monitor and the adaptor for my video card to test it with. Isn't there a video card setting where you can setup multiple desktop areas and send applications to them? I forget..what happens when you go Full Screen?




:cool: Audiosoft
View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
rllercstr7
Member
***




Posts: 377
Registered: 8-2-2004
Location: US
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-29-2006 at 06:07 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Hello,
When I make eJukebox full screen, by selecting maxamize or fullscreen, it repositions itself on the primary monitor only. However this is not so great for me since I usually display it on the secondary monitor. I haven't run into this issue with any other software, so I'm not sure what is different about eJukebox. Other applications behave as follows:
They will open on either the primary or secondary monitor, this is dicatated by which monitor they were being displayed on when you last closed them. So if I have IE7 open on the secondary monitor, close it, and open it again it automatically opens on the secondary monitor. eJukebox always opens centered between the two monitors.

Basically there are 3 issues here:
-The opening position
-The tools dialogue will display on monitor one only even if eJukebox is being displayed on monitor two. See pic below.
-The popup always scrolls onto the primary monitor only. It looks funny, because it comes up on one monitor, the secondary, and then scrolls over onto the primary. Also pictured below.

Thanks Audiosoft, also I am willing to help test as I can see your delima if you do not already have the equiptment.

Left -> Primary___________________________________________Right -> Secondary

rllercstr7 has attached this image:
Multi-mon.jpg - 217.22kb
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member rllercstr7's Aim
Pirk
Posting Freak
*****




Posts: 3976
Registered: 3-11-2003
Location: France
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-29-2006 at 10:26 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Quote:
Message original : Audiosoft
The more albums in the carousel - the more cpu it uses..

Exactly..
Quote:
At least with the next version it will not use cpu while the rotation is stopped.

Well, that will be a good thing!
Reading you, I see it's not that easy.. Do as best you can Audiosoft!

Thanks a lot.




:cool: Pirk
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Pirk
Posting Freak
*****




Posts: 3976
Registered: 3-11-2003
Location: France
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-29-2006 at 10:51 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Quote:
Message original : rllercstr7
eJukebox never uses above 25% CPU usage for me, but then again my specs are way above what is required too.

Are you sure rllercstr7? The carousel never uses more than 25% of your cpu time, even when you have 20 albums in it?

I don't think that my PC is completly outdated: Win XP Pro/Vista, P4 3 Ghz, 1024Mb RAM, 400Gb SATA HD, ATI X800 PCI-Express Graphic card..




:cool: Pirk
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Fishy
Senior Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 960
Registered: 10-19-2003
Location: Norway, Trondheim
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-29-2006 at 03:33 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Pirk: Here it uses about 20 per cent of the cpu when not active. Also outdated: Athlon XP 2500+, 1gb memory, ATI Radeon X700 128 mb.



-----------
Fishy
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member Fishy's ICQ status
Pirk
Posting Freak
*****




Posts: 3976
Registered: 3-11-2003
Location: France
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-29-2006 at 03:52 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Fishy: 20% with how many albums? 20?



:cool: Pirk
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
rllercstr7
Member
***




Posts: 377
Registered: 8-2-2004
Location: US
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-29-2006 at 04:41 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Pirk how have you added 20. I thought the maximum was 12? I'll test and see how my PC handles 20.

I have a dual core 3 Ghz with 2Gb of ram and a PCI-E GeForce 7900GT 256 MB
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member rllercstr7's Aim
Pirk
Posting Freak
*****




Posts: 3976
Registered: 3-11-2003
Location: France
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-29-2006 at 05:19 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
20 albums in the carousel:
You are right rllercstr7, normally it only displays 12 albums.. ;) BUT when you have a artist having some multiple CDs the carousel can go up to 20!! :D

Dual core..:
OK, your PC seems twice more powerful than mine! :o




:cool: Pirk
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Pirk
Posting Freak
*****




Posts: 3976
Registered: 3-11-2003
Location: France
Member Is Offline

eureka.gif posted on 10-29-2006 at 06:54 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Audiosoft,

If you could hide the duplicate covers in the carousel, I think that would save some cpu time.. :)
Of course if you make that, a click/dragging on a multiple album should list all the CDs..

Thanks.




:cool: Pirk
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Fishy
Senior Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 960
Registered: 10-19-2003
Location: Norway, Trondheim
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-29-2006 at 07:46 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
hmm what is the point of having a carousel that only show one album? :) Don't sure if I get this right?



-----------
Fishy
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member Fishy's ICQ status
Pirk
Posting Freak
*****




Posts: 3976
Registered: 3-11-2003
Location: France
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-29-2006 at 07:59 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Fishy! No of course.. :D
I mean when you have double or multiple albums (one cover common to several CDs), the carousel could avoid to display several times the same cover side by side.. like in the album list! ;)




:cool: Pirk
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Fishy
Senior Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 960
Registered: 10-19-2003
Location: Norway, Trondheim
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-29-2006 at 10:18 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
hmm ok. I always give doublealbums the same albumname and number the songs accordingly. So they turn up under one cover. But, that is matter of taste I guess..



-----------
Fishy
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member Fishy's ICQ status
Audiosoft
Super Administrator
*********




Posts: 3393
Registered: 3-11-2003
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-30-2006 at 06:53 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Good news...I managed to get it to auto correct any graphical problems with the solution by making it refresh the stopped carousel once every second.
This way the carousel will look and work the same as under v4.1 except that now it will use close to no CPU when it is not rotating - even when you have 20 albums in the list.




:cool: Audiosoft
View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Pirk
Posting Freak
*****




Posts: 3976
Registered: 3-11-2003
Location: France
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-30-2006 at 08:57 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Quote:
Message original : Fishy
hmm ok. I always give doublealbums the same albumname and number the songs accordingly. So they turn up under one cover. But, that is matter of taste I guess..

I'm in the habit of using: Album name CD1, Album name CD2.. So I keep the song numbering and folders of the physical CDs: In case I would need to put back some albums on CDs!




:cool: Pirk
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Pirk
Posting Freak
*****




Posts: 3976
Registered: 3-11-2003
Location: France
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-30-2006 at 09:08 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Quote:
Message original : Audiosoft
Good news...I managed to get it to auto correct any graphical problems with the solution by making it refresh the stopped carousel once every second.
This way the carousel will look and work the same as under v4.1 except that now it will use close to no CPU when it is not rotating - even when you have 20 albums in the list.

Perfect! :) Audiosoft, you are the best in the World! ;)

Now that the carousel is sated, maybe could you allow 20 albums rather than 12, and also remove the duplicate covers for the multiple albums?

Thanks a lot.




:cool: Pirk
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Pirk
Posting Freak
*****




Posts: 3976
Registered: 3-11-2003
Location: France
Member Is Offline

eureka.gif posted on 10-30-2006 at 10:45 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Allow 20 albums rather than 12, and also remove the duplicate covers for the multiple albums:

What you think Audiosoft?



:cool: Pirk
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Fishy
Senior Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 960
Registered: 10-19-2003
Location: Norway, Trondheim
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-30-2006 at 05:25 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Sorry for bitching Pirk, but would not 20 albums make the carousel a little "flat", as opposed to the 3d effect gained when using less albums? Just a thought.



-----------
Fishy
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member Fishy's ICQ status
rllercstr7
Member
***




Posts: 377
Registered: 8-2-2004
Location: US
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-30-2006 at 05:46 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Thats my thought too Fishy. I actually prefered the look of 10 albums, because it was even more circular.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member rllercstr7's Aim
Fishy
Senior Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 960
Registered: 10-19-2003
Location: Norway, Trondheim
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-30-2006 at 06:21 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
I guess it is a matter of preference: Carousel or filmstrip? Maybe an option where one could choose between 10, 15 and 20 albums?



-----------
Fishy
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member Fishy's ICQ status
Pirk
Posting Freak
*****




Posts: 3976
Registered: 3-11-2003
Location: France
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-30-2006 at 08:23 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
OK guys, let's say a 10 -> 20 option! :D

Otherwise I hope you approve of removing the duplicate covers in case of multiple albums?! :P




:cool: Pirk
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
Fishy
Senior Member
****


Avatar


Posts: 960
Registered: 10-19-2003
Location: Norway, Trondheim
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-30-2006 at 09:44 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Never, it is an awful idea :D

Just kidding, it would be the most logical to merge them together ;)




-----------
Fishy
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member Fishy's ICQ status
Pirk
Posting Freak
*****




Posts: 3976
Registered: 3-11-2003
Location: France
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-30-2006 at 11:01 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Quote:
Message original : Fishy
it would be the most logical to merge them together ;)

Of course.. Isn't it Audiosoft!? :)




:cool: Pirk
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
thomaslist
Super Administrator
*********




Posts: 50
Registered: 10-20-2020
Member Is Offline

posted on 10-20-2020 at 04:46 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
this week

Nike Air Max Best Selling
Polo Ralph Lauren Products White USA
Adidas Ultra Boost Wide Range
Coach sale New York
Adidas Shoes Locations
Ed Hardy Christian Audigier
Coach Shoulder classic fashion trend
Pandora Bracelets On Sale
Best Big Pony Ralph Lauren
Sale Ralph Lauren Shirts Worldwide
New York Men's Ralph Lauren Polos
Kate Spade authentic quality
Kate Spade Wide Range
Available Nike Air Max
Ralph Lauren Big Pony Logo
Cheapest Ralph Lauren Dresses
Salomon Sport Shoes Designer
Ed Hardy T Shirts Online
Hot Sale Coach Satchels New York
UK official Coach online shop
Adidas Real NMD Boost For Sale
Ed Hardy T Shirts USA
Coach Cheap Sale
Online Nike Air Max Discount
Official Polo Ralph Lauren Shirts
Nike Air Jordan Pink Women
Ed Hardy Tank authentic quality
Nike Air Max 270 White Mens
Champion Sweatshirt Sales
Adidas Shoes Green Blue
Online Nike Multi Ground Boots Style
Supreme Hoodies Sale
GGDB Francy Fast Worldwide Delivery
USA Ed Hardy Real
Cheap Coach Crossbody Outlet
Coach Shoulder Outlet
Nike Air Jordan 4 Internship
Ed Hardy Love Kill Slowly
Palace T Shirt Collection
Polo Ralph Lauren Wholesale UK
Wholesale online Coach Hobo
Where To Buy Authentic Ed Hardy
Polo Ralph Lauren Black Sale
Kate Spade Carry On Sale
Authentic Polo Ralph Lauren Online
Coach Totes Factory New York
ED Hardy Surprise Clothing
Air Max 720 USA Online
Nike LeBron Great Deals
Air Jordan Outlet Stores Online
Pandora Necklaces Free Shipping
Sale Ralph Lauren Sport Suits
Polo Ralph Lauren Shop Clothes Online
Special Adidas NMD Boost Offers
Ralph Lauren Outlet Seller
Classic Adidas Ultra Boost
Air Jordan 1 Red With Bule
Kate Spade Hobos
Kate Spade Shoulder Bags
Coach Satchels Womens Bags
Ralph Lauren Blue White Black
High Tops Women's Salomon
Pandora Gifts Amazing Selection
Ralph Lauren Polo grey orange
Ralph Lauren Polo Shirts Outlet
By Fashion Nike Air Max 97
Nike Air Jordan Womens Blue
OFF White Sweatshirt Attractive Design
Large Discount Pandora Bracelets
coach online outlet
Nike Air Max 270 USA Sale
Ralph Lauren Flag Polo Size Large
Authentic Discount Ed Hardy Suits
Discounted Adidas Falcon
Small Pony Ralph Lauren
Best Discount Price Supreme
Nike Air Max Shop
Discount Italy Hogan Shoes
Sale Golden Goose Hi Star Online
coach the most fashion designs
Kate Spade new collection
Official Shop Nike Air Max 270
Adidas Yeezy USA Factory Outlet
Polo Ralph Lauren Authentic
ED Hardy Hoodies Outlet
Lowest Price Adidas NMD Boost
Adidas Yeezy Real Boost 350
Stores Champion Clothings
Italy Gray Hogan Shoes
Men's Polo Ralph Lauren By USA
Off White Black White Clothings
Air Jordan 1 Outlet
USA Kate Spade Women
Nike Air Max 720 Black
Outlet Nike SB Dunk Online
world-wide renown Kate Spade
Nike Air Jordan Sport
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Post new thread Poll:

Go To Top

Audiosoft Home | Download EJukebox for Windows | Register EJukebox
©2019 Audiosoft Network. All rights reserved.
[queries: 16]
HTML5 Color Picker for CSS Opacity
Short Url Service with Stats