Audiosoft Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login - Register]
Go To Bottom

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: Trouble Starting EJukebox
DIY_Steve
Junior Member
**




Posts: 9
Registered: 6-21-2011
Member Is Offline

posted on 6-22-2011 at 02:47 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Trouble Starting EJukebox

I haven't used EJukebox in over a year... (too busy with work).
When I tried to run it today the spash screen box pops up saying that I have an EJukebox Pro - Lifetime License and at the bottom of the window the status scrolls through Initializing, Loading Skins, Loading Database, Loading Interface... and then the box disappears... with nothing else on the screen. Subsequent attempts to run EJukebox net the same result.

I tried upgrading to version 5.65 and deleting the database file ejuke.asn... but still get the same results.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Steve
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
DIY_Steve
Junior Member
**




Posts: 9
Registered: 6-21-2011
Member Is Offline

posted on 6-23-2011 at 02:42 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
If there are no other thoughts or options...

Would it be worth a try to uninstall and then re-install? If so, how does one preserve their license when they can't run the program?

If all else fails I can always move from a laptop to a deskdop.

Thanks,
Steve
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Pirk
Posting Freak
*****




Posts: 3976
Registered: 3-11-2003
Location: France
Member Is Offline

posted on 6-23-2011 at 10:29 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
maybe you could try to rename your ejukebox.ini to ejukebox.old then run EJ again.



:cool: Pirk
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
DIY_Steve
Junior Member
**




Posts: 9
Registered: 6-21-2011
Member Is Offline

posted on 6-23-2011 at 12:39 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
I gave it a try... pretty much the same result. It made it as far as loading interface (may have paused here for a little longer after renaming ini file) and then the splash screen or box disappeared.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Pirk
Posting Freak
*****




Posts: 3976
Registered: 3-11-2003
Location: France
Member Is Offline

posted on 6-23-2011 at 03:13 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
ok sorry... and after the splash screen has disappeared, the ejukebox.exe process is still running in your task manager or not?



:cool: Pirk
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
DIY_Steve
Junior Member
**




Posts: 9
Registered: 6-21-2011
Member Is Offline

posted on 6-26-2011 at 11:18 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Thanks for responding Pirk...sorry I didn't keep up, I went boating for the weekend with no internet coverage.

When the splash screen disappears, the ejukebox.exe process also stops running.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Audiosoft
Super Administrator
*********




Posts: 3398
Registered: 3-11-2003
Member Is Offline

posted on 6-27-2011 at 01:26 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
i think it have fixed your crash
please try v5.66 and let me know if it works good now or not
you can Download and Run the Upgrade from
http://www.audiosoft.net/download.htm




:cool: Audiosoft
View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
DIY_Steve
Junior Member
**




Posts: 9
Registered: 6-21-2011
Member Is Offline

posted on 6-27-2011 at 03:55 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
I tried the upgrade and still have the same result.

I don't know if this helps, but.... the loading interface pauses for a good 30sec before it disappears... and in the last year I have moved my music to another drive, so if it is searching for the old files they will not be found.

Thanks,
Steve
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Audiosoft
Super Administrator
*********




Posts: 3398
Registered: 3-11-2003
Member Is Offline

posted on 6-27-2011 at 04:06 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
OK that does sound like it can't find a file to play
so try starting fresh
download and run the full setup install
set the install path to C:\EJukebox2\
and see if that works for you




:cool: Audiosoft
View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
DIY_Steve
Junior Member
**




Posts: 9
Registered: 6-21-2011
Member Is Offline

posted on 6-27-2011 at 04:49 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
I downloaded the Full v5.66 version and appears to have the same results... It makes it quickly through the initial messages (loading skins, etc.) but stalls on the Loading Playback device for about 45 seconds and stalls on Loading Interface for even longer.... and then splash screen disappears.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Audiosoft
Super Administrator
*********




Posts: 3398
Registered: 3-11-2003
Member Is Offline

posted on 6-27-2011 at 09:26 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
hmm do you have Windows XP or Win7?



:cool: Audiosoft
View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
DIY_Steve
Junior Member
**




Posts: 9
Registered: 6-21-2011
Member Is Offline

posted on 6-28-2011 at 01:06 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Win Xp SP3... I do know EJ ran fine on this laptop a year or so ago... and on another laptop prior.

I don't know what could have changed. Other than at the time I was going through a lot of changes in my song directory (deleting unsed songs and updating metedata)... it seemed to cause some confusion with the EJ database (requiring lots of rebuillds)... so, I decided to completely cleanup song directory before going back to EJ... one thing let to another and a year went by.

Could this be security related? This is a company laptop, so I have no control of settings... though they have used same software for years and as far as I know there are no major changes.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
DIY_Steve
Junior Member
**




Posts: 9
Registered: 6-21-2011
Member Is Offline

posted on 7-13-2011 at 04:20 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
?
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Audiosoft
Super Administrator
*********




Posts: 3398
Registered: 3-11-2003
Member Is Offline

posted on 7-13-2011 at 06:49 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
it could this be security related but maybe not. Can you install using the Administrator XP user account?

please try installing this -> download_k-lite_codec_pack_full

if EJ doesn't start then delete C:\EJukebox\
and install audiosoft.net/download.htm Setup to C:\EJukebox\




:cool: Audiosoft
View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
DIY_Steve
Junior Member
**




Posts: 9
Registered: 6-21-2011
Member Is Offline

posted on 7-13-2011 at 08:24 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
This patch appears to have done the trick.

Note it didn't work after loading the codec_pack... but, once I deleted C:EJukebox and then re-installed... it appears to have worked.

Also note... the link for the codec pack you supplied also forced installation of several unwanted utility programs. These programs were fairly easy to uninstall, but anyone who faces the same issue may want to try THIS LINK, which appears to be the codec pack's homepage.

I haven't had a lot of time to run through the new version of EJ... but it looks even slicker than it did a year or so ago.... thanks for the help Audiosoft.... it's great to have EJ back!!

Steve

;)
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Audiosoft
Super Administrator
*********




Posts: 3398
Registered: 3-11-2003
Member Is Offline

posted on 7-15-2011 at 01:00 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Great! glad you are up and running!
thank you for posting the alternate codec pack link :D




:cool: Audiosoft
View User's Profile E-Mail User Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User U2U Member
crlove
Member
***




Posts: 219
Registered: 11-13-2005
Member Is Offline

posted on 12-19-2011 at 04:42 AM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Same issue but worked then I did a force shutdown of ejukebox now always stuck at "loading playback device". I'm using 5.69 I would prefer not to have to do a reload.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
crlove
Member
***




Posts: 219
Registered: 11-13-2005
Member Is Offline

posted on 12-23-2011 at 10:13 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
My solution was to delete all the songs in the playlist of winamp and then everything would come up.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
gavind
Junior Member
**


Avatar


Posts: 48
Registered: 10-27-2012
Member Is Offline

posted on 1-5-2013 at 02:02 PM Edit Post Reply With Quote
Hmmm. Just the song on the playlist or the song files itself? Trying to upgrade here.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User U2U Member
Post new thread Poll:

Go To Top

Audiosoft Home | Download EJukebox for Windows | Register EJukebox
©2019 Audiosoft Network. All rights reserved.
[queries: 16]
HTML5 Color Picker for CSS Opacity
Short Url Service with Stats